Ok, I think we’re about caught up of the springtime activities – we’re now onto June – wahoo!

June has been busy, for really the first time since we moved here, we have some stuff going on. The last weekend in May, Erik was in MN for Seth’s bachelor party. I took advantage of a nice weekend and did some hiking with Dude. On Sunday, right around noon, I get a text from one neighbor and call from another saying a bear was headed our way. It sure was! The thing was massive, but unfortunately I didn’t get a picture because I was talking on my phone. Dude wasn’t too happy about it being here. The crazy thing is the neighbor and I and the dogs had a hike planned, so we decided to wait a bit until the coast was clear. It was a beautiful day for a hike.IMG_0831 IMG_0832 IMG_0833

Love the flowering cacti

Love the flowering cacti

 

That week, Erik went straight from MN to a work trip on the East coast (Nantucket, Martha’s Vineyard, Rhode Island). He got home late Thursday night. Then, Saturday my sister and Barry moved here! Yay! I taught a yoga class that day and then packed up to beat them to their house since I had the keys. They arrived around 6 pm on Saturday after some 28 hours of driving from Baltimore. My parents flew to Baltimore to help so it was a family affair. Saturday night we unloaded the moving truck and Sunday was spent unpacking stuff, running to Target and other stores to get necessities and just hanging out.

Monday we came up to Ned to do some hiking and hanging out. We then hit up the hot springs to relax the aches and pains away. Tuesday was an Ikea run and then just hanging out until it was time for my parents to go to the airport.

Since they moved here two or so weeks ago, we’ve seen each other a lot (which is great).

Here is our time together in a nutshell. I’ve sold one of my bikes:IMG_0844

Am in the process of selling another:

IMG_0850And of course, bought a mountain bike. I knew it was only a matter of time once they moved. It was less than a week, but it’s a beaut and I’m super happy with it.

IMG_0853I’ve been mountain biking for about 10 days now, have gotten my ass kicked repeatedly by hills and have fallen numerous times (like more than a handful). I got talked into racing (and failed miserably) and am in a women’s beginner mountain bike clinic to learn some skills, which is awesome. I am bruised all over, often in pain, but have fun riding (all things considered) so it’s been a success so far.

Meanwhile, back at home, Erik is tending to his wounds. He also raced and crashed twice, leading to some deep road (gravel) rash and lots of pain. This is what his life has looked like the past two weeks. He’s working on selling his current cross bike:

IMG_0865He bought a mountain bike:IMG_0871

And he’s injured:

Bike riding for us=lots of water and gauze

Bike riding for us=lots of water and gauze

So I guess you can say June has been about biking and family time. Slowly I’m getting more comfortable on the bike and can ride for longer. Once Erik heals a little we’ll be able to ride together and I’m very much looking forward to that.