We’re still biking and it’s getting easier. With that I mean I see how it’s possible to not die on hills and I’m doing better at shifting and such which just makes it easier. It’s still really fricken hard though!

Today, with the holiday, we thought we’d get out and do a ride. A little exercise to start the day is good for us and Dude was a little hyper so we wanted to exhaust him. We choose a trail near our house, still have to load up and drive there but it’s really just down the road. At the end of that road is a small parking area and then the trail which goes all the way to the reservoir. We knew it’d be hard because it’s all downhill there (because you’re dropping in elevation toward a water source) and all uphill back. A lot of trails follow this same uphill out, downhill back or vice versa format, but have areas of flat or rolling areas in them. This one does not – it’s straight down out and straight up back. Why did I agree to this?

The way down to the water was great. I think I only pedaled once the whole way – it took us about 20 minutes to get down and Google Maps tells us it’s a 2.5 mile out and back, so 5 miles roundtrip. After our descent to the reservoir, we took a break. I know, no need for a break after coasting down a hill for 20 minutes, but the pooch had just run 2.5 miles downhill and he needed some water and shade for a minute.

IMG_0886The reservoir (Gross Reservoir is it’s official name – I think it is a water source for Denver) was absolutely beautiful. It was midday, sunny, breeze y and pleasant. I didn’t want to leave (especially because I knew what was coming).

IMG_0885Where we were is just one of the small inlets – the whole rez is actually quite large. Dude had fun drinking water and splashing his paws around. He’s not much of a swimmer, more of a frolicker or wader but he had fun.

IMG_0887Erik went out a bit to see if he’d swim and no go. I like their poses – looking svelte boys 🙂

IMG_0889

 

I enjoyed the view and shimmer of the cottonwood trees while they played. We did see one person kayaking (no motors allowed on the rez – or swimming or dogs for that matter). IMG_0890

Finally, it was time to begin our uphill battle. We walked up to where our bikes were resting and took one more glance back toward the water. Side note, we were down there before spring runoff began and climbed down in the 12 or so foot crevice where that buoy now floats. It was anchored by a chain and the water was no where near it. It’s amazing to see how much more water there is now.

IMG_0891Then, it began. 2.5 miles of climbing. It felt like longer, honestly and there was a point mid-way that I didn’t think I was going to make it. It got hot out, my head was pounding, my heart was pounding, my breathing was short and labored. My legs, surprisingly, felt ok. We kept on for what seemed like eternity and finally had to stop to rest. It had been 12 minutes, but 12 challenging minutes. As I said, there were no breaks or flat areas to coast or catch your breath, it was 2.5 miles of incline and some areas were challenging with loose sand, rocks and areas where runoff has created a cavern through half of the trail. It was a constant reassessment of what part to ride on for the most ease. We stopped at least three times, sat down, drank water under a shade tree and got our energy back. I think Dude liked the breaks too. He layed in the grass, found a random animal bone to chew at one stop and drank water. He’s learned to drink from water bottles so that’s handy.

Even though I was struggling big time, we still managed some wildflower photo ops (some things never change). The first one is blanketflower, the second is a collection of stuff, the third is Giant Red Indian Paintbrush and the last one is Indian Paintbrush again with Dude posing.IMG_0892 IMG_0893 IMG_0894 IMG_0895

Finally, we stopped at any area we recognized and we knew we weren’t too far. We just had to go through a steep-ish S curve area and then up to the gate. Once at the gate, we had the final section to get to the final gate, where the car was parked. Toward the end I was able to just push through the discomfort and lack of oxygen because I knew where the end was. Just one more gate, and I could see the gate! Almost there! I so badly wanted to just go home and cry.

Finally, we were there and for the first time I’m happy to report, NO FALLS! Neither of us fell today, and that’s huge progress. This trail was not easy, there were a lot of challenging areas and we both stayed upright. I learned how to navigate some sticky situations today and that feels like positive progress.

We loaded back up, herded Dude, who at this point was laying under a tree in the sand (cooler I suppose). We came home, had some lunch, showered and are now resting – all of us. Dude has been sleeping since the minute we walked in the door (2.5 hours ago now). We are enjoying some thunder in the distance and a nice quiet afternoon. We have plans to spend this eve with Melissa and Barry, so that should be fun.

Have a nice weekend everyone!